Chevron Left
Back to Overcoming Dyslexia

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Overcoming Dyslexia by Yale University

4.7
stars
141 ratings

About the Course

Dyslexia is everywhere, touching so many children and adults, and while science has made extraordinary progress in understanding and clarifying the condition, this incredible powerful knowledge rarely reaches those who most need to know and would greatly benefit from it. Our goal is to change all this with the Coursera you are about to view, produced by Dr. Sally Shaywitz, the Audrey G. Ratner Professor in Learning Development, both the leading scientist studying dyslexia and the most devoted advocate for helping those who are dyslexic. The course addresses and answers just about all the questions you have: beginning with what is reading and what is dyslexia and sharing with you the most up-to-date 21st century federal definition of dyslexia. If you are dyslexic, you’ll come to learn you are not alone – dyslexia is very common affecting one out of five, that is, 20% of the population, including both boys and girls all over the world. The course addresses a major question we hear from so many parents and teachers– how do I know if my child may be dyslexic? What signs or symptoms should I be on the lookout for? And here’s another very important question we hear from so many parents and educators who are eager to do the best for their child – when should screening for dyslexia begin? What is the best method? What should I look for or ask about? A major source of worry for parents is their child’s slow reading- they ask will this prevent a happy future for the child. Yes, dyslexics are slow readers and here, in Coursera, you will come to understand the brain’s role in dyslexia, including slow reading. Great news to share – you will also be so delighted to learn that surrounding a dyslexic’s slow reading is a phenomenal powerful sea of strengths in big picture thinking and reasoning. Dyslexia is a true paradox: dyslexics may be slow readers but at the same time are incredibly fast thinkers! You can be assured, if you care about a child or someone who is dyslexic and have questions or concerns, you will find it addressed here in this course: everything important to know about and help you select the most effective interventions for a dyslexic child; how to go about choosing the best school, including potentially one that is specialized, for such a child, including what is most important to look for when visiting a potential school; the role of accommodations and how to select the best one; and common co-occurring conditions like ADHD and anxiety – their impact, how to recognize and treat. In the following lessons you will meet wonderful, incredibly insightful and highly successful dyslexics – including governors, cardiac surgeons, nationally renowned attorneys, basketball coaches, economists and dyslexic children and their wonderful families who will share their experiences and advice. Enjoy!...

Top reviews

SW

Feb 18, 2023

This course was thorough, interesting, and very relevant to me as a literacy specialist. My students will benefit from my new understandings about dyslexia. Thank you very much.

Sidney Worthen

JC

Jan 6, 2023

Amazing course and highly recommended. I really appreciated how thorough and well-explained each step was. The questions throughout the video and the quizzes at the end really helped me to focus.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 67 Reviews for Overcoming Dyslexia

By Mariam A

Dec 24, 2022

It's a great course and great content I'd love to recommend it to anyone but:

I gave this course 4 stars out of 5 because I expected to see

1) More deep information about symptoms of dyslexia in adults and how to deal with it.

2) More deep information about key strength of dyslexics.

By Jonathan A N

Jan 13, 2023

There were parts of the course which seemed repetitive, it was nice to be able to take this course at my own pace from my home. As a dyslexic myself and working with students who are also dyslexic this course was both affirming and informative.

By Jesse-Marie L

Feb 28, 2023

AN ENSIGHTFUL COURE THAT CAN BE SUMMARIZED AS:

D- RIVING FORCE

Y- OUR RESPONSIBILITY

S- UPPORT SYSTEMS

L- ETTING YOUR LIGHT SHINE

E- NDURANCE

X- RAY YOUR PERFORMNCE HONESTLY

I- GNITE PASSION AND PURPOSE

A- SPIRE FOR YOUR DREAMS NO MATTER WHAT

28TH FEB 2023 - MS JESSE-MARIE LANGE T&T

By Jennifer C

Jan 6, 2023

Amazing course and highly recommended. I really appreciated how thorough and well-explained each step was. The questions throughout the video and the quizzes at the end really helped me to focus.

By Jeanne G

Jan 28, 2023

A deep insight in all areas affecting Dyslexic individuals. This book / course should be required reading for all professionals in education from k-college and adult educators.

By Dori R

Dec 25, 2022

Amazing and informative! Great for anyone wanting to know about dyslexia and advocating for their child or others.

By john c

Jan 2, 2023

A professional course for anyone who is interested in Dyslexia.

By Judih W H

Jan 29, 2023

This is a marvelous course, dealing with every aspect of Dyslexia, what it is and how to recognize it from the earliest age, who might be at risk for being dyslexic, how to work with a small child and secure screening at kindergarten/first grade. And from there the evidence-based route to follow to help the dyslexic recognize the needs and how they may secure aids and accommodations. The stories of those who have overcome their reading disorder in order to fulfill their professional potential, and then how to deal with society to get the support required. The number of dyslexics in our society and how the majority are not finding the support and recognition they need. How the law now backs up Dyslexics to get the necessary accommodations to function at the level they are capable of. Educators, advocates, parents, friends and those with Dyslexia, take this course. Dr. Shaywitz, and her incredible Dr. family are providing an extraordinary service in providing awareness of how to overcome dyslexia.

By Audrey O

Feb 12, 2023

I have recommended this course to parents and friends. I hope school districts use this course in their in service or at least get the book for a book study. I have members within my family that have overcome dyslexia and served as our district’s dyslexia specialist. This course covers many aspects that face the dyslexic from beginning to read through the workplace.

It is filled with useful information, resources and steps to take for overcoming dyslexia. Dr. Shaywitz delivers the information with such passion, empathy and heart that it is impossible to leave this course without feeling the need to reach out and share the information.

Thank you for bringing dyslexia into the light and giving hope to parents, teachers and students that being in the 20% may be difficult but it doesn’t define or limit you and in most cases enhances your perseverance and life view

By Kaiquan M

Jan 17, 2023

Good lectures and sharing by different speakers about

1. dyslexia

2. how people with dyslexia can succeed

3. what accommodations people with dyslexia need in school and taking tests

The in-video quizzes were too frequent for me and could have limited to appearing just all at one point in the video instead of having multiple in-video quizzes at multiple points in each video. Having just one point with all the in-video quizzes per video would really help people who are listening to the lecture while going about their day.

By Mary C L

Jan 18, 2023

As a grandmother of a dyslexic grandson, I took this class to learn more. Luckily, and thankfully, my daughter, his mom, is a kindergarten teacher and has been advocating most of his school career for him. She recently had him...Joey.... tested and he now has that all important diagnosis that will help in the rest of his middle school, high school and post high school years. She is teaching him to advocate for himself and to speak up when needed. She feeds his curiosity and interests. What a lucky young man!

By Laura C

Mar 10, 2023

This course was exceptional! I read Overcoming Dyslexia several years ago while teaching a graduate course however, hearing from Sally Shaywitz herself brought it to a whole new level. I cannot wait to share this information with my colleagues and future teachers, so that we can improve our practice and ensure that we are identifying students, as well as providing them with the tools and strategies they need and DESERVE to reach their potential.

Thank you for this opportunity!!!

Laura Crowley Ed. D

By Judy G

Dec 25, 2022

This course is a phenomenal review of what dyslexia is & how to diagnose and treat it. I wish the Shaywitz screening tool was used in the school systems that I am/was involved with. Use of this instrument and appropriate interventions would have made a world of difference to the many youngsters I know who suffer with this disabling condition. It shouldn't be this way and it make me very sad and frustrated!!! Thank you Sally for doing this work for all these years !!

By Alex F

Jan 4, 2023

My nephew is dyslexic. This course has helped me understand him better and has also spurred me to find ways that I can help him progress both academically and in life. Thank you for bringing this course to Coursera. The school system here in Singapore is also not doing as much for Dyslexic students as they should be as well. Hopefully, they will take more positive actions in the near future.

By Mary M B

Mar 10, 2023

Outstanding information! I loved the factual information, the people sharing their stories, the structure of the course, and Dr. Shaywitz's quotes. I am a dyslexia therapist and special education advocate and I learned new informatio Thank you for making this course available for fre Great work!!!!

You are making a difference in the world.

By Samantha M

Mar 12, 2023

So much useful information that I can take back directly to the school and classroom! Specifically, I loved the section on law and background of how our laws protect students who need accommodations. I also appreciated the online flexibility yet having the deadlines for accountability. Thank you for providing this opportunity to learn!

By Divine D

Feb 9, 2023

This course gave me a very in-depth insight into what Dyslexia entails and how to support students with Dyslexia in my line of work. I particularly enjoyed the sessions on the brain's activity during reading for a dyslexic student and the accommodations that are available for dyslexic learners.

By Kathia M P

Feb 16, 2023

It is really a great resource for teachers, parents and people with dyslexia have access to a very interesting way of learning about this disability. Learning is power and understanding is an important key, as a teacher myself, to create a learning environment that is inclusive and fair.

By Andrew K K H

Jan 10, 2023

This is an excellent and enriching learning person with dyslexia. It helped me to understand the superpower of a person with dyslexia and a much more in-depth understanding of the proper techniques and requirements to harness the hidden talent and overcome these challenges into strength.

By Cheryl R

Mar 9, 2023

As a dyslexic person, I found the information here not only informative but also it was a relief to know someone understands the day to day struggles of a dyslexic. I couldn't finish this course quick enough, there was so much wonderful and insightful information.

Thank you so much.

By Angela D

Feb 20, 2023

This is the best course I've undertaken on Dyslexia.

I particularly appreciate the brain scan imagery, the testimonies of people who overcame dyslexia, and the hope given by knowing that systematic phonological instruction can improve a child's chances from KG onwards.

Thank you

By Heather M

Mar 5, 2023

The course was easy to understand and well presented. Any educational and legal terminology was easily explained, abbreviations were explained more than once. I loved the way I could pick up and stop at any time, so learn fitted my circumstances and connectivity issues.

By Soledad M

Jan 29, 2023

The questions after each section are helpful. The presenter and the real life testimonies helped me connect to the materials. Having the text along with the spoken word was helpful to me since English s my second language. I am interested in more special education classes.

By Tiffany B

Mar 19, 2023

Very informative! Helpful in supporting knowledge about Dyslexia, from explaining what Dyslexia is, diagnosing, and appropriate accommodations to the systems within the educational system. Provides practical advocacy and successful evidence based solutions.

By Janet B

Feb 15, 2023

I enjoyed this course as it helped me to think of the impact of dyslexia both on children and adults. Presentation of material and accommodations are essential for success in the classroom. Dyslexic learners are creative thinkers who will change the world.